Dubai Building
Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up

UOBD Academic Calendar

2018-2019*



​​ Fall Semester 2018-2019
Sunday  August 26 Student Orientation and Welcome Ceremony Students/Parents
Tuesday-Thursday  August 28-30  Fall 2018 New Students Registration 
Sunday September 2 Fall 2018 Semester begins
Wednesday-Thursday September 5-6 Fall 2018 Drop/Add Period
Tuesday September 11 Islamic Hijri New Year Holiday**
Tuesday November 20 Al Mawlid Al Nabawi (Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday)** 
Thursday November 29 Drop Period Ends
Friday November 30 Martyr’s Day
Sunday-Monday December 2-3 UAE National Day
Tuesday-Thursday December 4-6 Spring 2019 Semester Pre-Registration
Thursday-Saturday  December 13-15 Reading Period
Sunday-Thursday December 16-20 Fall 2018 Final Exams
Sunday-Wednesday December 23-January 2 Winter Vacation



Spring Semester 2018-2019
Wednesday-Thursday January 9-10 Spring 2019 Semester Late Registration
Sunday January 20 Spring 2019 Semester begins
Wednesday-Thursday January 23-24 Spring 2019 Drop/Add Period
Wednesday April 3 Al Israa Wal Miraj Holiday**
Sunday- Sunday April 21-28 Spring Vacation
Monday-Thursday April 29- May 2 Summer 2019 Semester Pre-Registration
Wednesday May 1 Drop Period Ends
Sunday-Tuesday May 12-14 Fall 2019 Semester Pre-Registration
Wednesday-Saturday May 15-18 Reading Period
Sunday-Thursday May 19-23 Spring 2019 Semester Final Exams


Summer Semester 2018-2019
Sunday-Tuesday May 12-14 Summer 2019 Semester Late Registration
Wednesday-Saturday June 5-8 Eid Al-Fitr Holiday**
Sunday June 9 Summer 2019 Semester Begins
Tuesday-Thursday June 11-13 Summer 2019 Semester Drop/Add Period
Wednesday July 17 Drop Period Ends
Thursday-Saturday July 25-27 Reading Period
Sunday-Wednesday July 28-31 Summer Semester Final Exams


* This Calendar is a student based calendar.
**All Eid dates are determined after sighting the moon. Accordingly, the actual dates may not coincide with the dates in the calendar.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​